HR and Powerzone

I am new to althetica ai and on my second trial week. I completed a 2h aerobic endurance session yesterday. My power was solid L2 but my HR was in tempo at 155bpm as opposed to the prescribed 135bpm. I do tend to rev quite high and I know HR can be problematic due to other life stress etc. On the other side at 50 I need to be mindful of recovery time - I am aware of being that little bit more irritable atm but this could just be acclimatizing to the increased load. I finished the session in ERG mode (should I do these in that mode - as a completionist I find doing exactly as I’m asked quite rewarding but a previous coach said it’s better to not use this mode). My instinct is that this session was a bit too hard for it’s goals but also that it made me work and probably had a good training effect.

I’m going to see how the rest of the week goes in terms of HRV etc but I might want to turn down sessions a little bit to bring these closer together.

I’m interested in the communities thoughts about a) Power against HR and b) ERG mode for prescribed sessions.

Many thanks for your views. I’m working through the documentation given by athletica but if there’s stuff there folk think I should read then links work for me :slight_smile:

Rob

1 Like

Hey @Horsham7

Welcome to Athletica! Hope you are enjoying your trial.

First I would like to ask whether you’ve done all the tests to calibrate your current Power and Hr zones. Kind of crucial to get proper workout prescription - so you don’t tank yourself.

Second, was this a Strength Endurance session? In that case, I would use ERG mode. Otherwise I don’t use Erg mode but go by feel and “free mode” - it helps to keep myself honest to my effort.

We recommend doing all zone 2 work by heart rate - keeping it in zone 2 and letting power drop the longer you go. Have a look at aerobic decoupling in your analysis. Anything over zone 2 - go by power if you have done your critical power or ftp test.