Newbie swimmer issue-how to save swimming technique trainings

I am a rookie in triathlon sport. I used to be a good runner and I was good at riding my bike too but swimming is something I have to start now from scratch. I considered myself to be able to handle more in these two events (running+bike) so I chose mid volume triathlon plan. I can manage the running and bike workload very well but I can go to swim only once or max twice a week. The swimming trainings are mainly about correcting my bad/missing swimming technique. So right now I am not able to complete Athletica workout plans as I am not a “real” swimmer yet but I want athletica to save my swimming as it is. How can I save these 1 hour swimming technique sessions into my training plan? When I tried to start Athletica planned swimming sessions on my Garmin watch it will measure incorrect data (the turns, the stops etc). I tried to save my swimming sessions as a “not planned activity” but the measurment was much more incorrect then the pervious method. Not to mention the error the little pool (20m) we have here in my small town creates…(Athletica swimming pool lenght setting allows only 25 and 50 m pools). Sorry for my pity party post but if there is something you suggest please share it with me. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hey @Creative32
Swimming is the most difficult one in triathlon and many, many people struggle with this. I didn’t grow up as a swimmer, as I lived way up in Northern Finland with closest pool 50K away. So my swimming was limited to those super short 2 months of summer. I was fortunate to have an amazing swim teacher during my BCs in sports sciences and I learned basic strokes then. When I started training for Ironman, I went all-in.
This is not an answer you like to hear, but because swimming is so technical, and requires you to really get in tune of your body and water, you need to jump in the pool as often as possible. There’s really no way around it.